ITSA Appoints New Board and Chairman

24 May 2022 | Press Releases

Following its 5th Annual General Meeting, held in May 2022 in Malta, during the Tax Stamp & Traceability Forum, the International Tax Stamp Association (ITSA) has appointed three directors to its board. Furthermore, ITSA is pleased to announce the appointment of a new chairman.

The three directors are Marietta Ulrich-Horn of Securikett and Tim Driscoll of Authentix, who have been re-elected by ITSA members to serve an additional term, while Nasser Bakkar of De La Rue joins the board as a new director. Kelly Smith of Ashton Potter, one of the 10 founding members of ITSA, has stepped down as director, a role he has held since 2019.

In addition to these three appointments, Juan Carlos Yañez Arenas, who has been chairman of ITSA since its founding in 2015, has stepped down from this role, and Gerben van Wijk of Luminescence Sun Chemical Security, who has been on the board since 2018, has been appointed as ITSA’s new chairman. Juan Carlos will continue serving on the board as director until the end of his term.

In his acceptance speech Gerben commented: ‘I am honoured and humbled to be allowed to lead this important association and take up the baton from Juan Carlos, who has done an amazing job since its creation. My focus will be on inclusion and growth of membership as well as on sustainability and compliance. We are an association established by and working for the industry and want to make sure we cover all the relevant topics. It will be a pleasure to work with my colleagues on the board as well as all our members on furthering the successes we have achieved so far’.

In addition to the aforementioned directors, the board comprises Zbigniew Sagan of Advanced Track & Trace and Ruggero Milanese of SICPA, bringing the total number of directors to seven.  

In all, ITSA has 25 members, up from 24 in 2021, with the latest company to join its ranks being Baldwin Technology. ITSA is, however, urging other organisations to join the association.

Membership is open to legally incorporated companies that supply tax stamp components and features, finished tax stamps, equipment for stamp design, manufacture, application, authentication and quality control, and systems for coding stamps and managing stamp and product data.

ITSA has also created an associate membership category, essentially to allow tax authorities and other government bodies, with an established interest in tax stamps, to work more closely with solution providers to shape the direction of tax stamp specification, deployment and implementation.

Find out more and access membership application forms